Introduction:
In a landmark and authoritative pronouncement on service jurisprudence, a Full Bench of the Madras High Court in Mr. D. Kaliyamoorthy v. State of Tamil Nadu (2026 LiveLaw (Mad) 56) has conclusively settled the long-debated issue concerning entitlement to pensionary benefits following resignation from government service on medical grounds. The Full Bench, comprising Justice S.M. Subramaniam, Justice D. Bharatha Chakravarthy, and Justice C. Kumarappan, was constituted to resolve conflicting interpretations on whether resignation due to ill health could be treated differently from resignation simpliciter under the Tamil Nadu Pension Rules, 1978. The petitioners, former government employees, had resigned from service citing medical reasons and subsequently claimed pensionary benefits, contending that resignation on health grounds should not entail forfeiture of past service. The State resisted these claims by relying on Rule 23 of the Tamil Nadu Pension Rules, which explicitly provides that resignation from service results in forfeiture of past service, subject only to a limited exception where resignation is tendered to take up another qualifying government appointment. The Full Bench, after an exhaustive analysis of statutory provisions, interpretative principles, and the scheme of pension rules, held that resignation—irrespective of the reason, including medical or health grounds—inevitably results in forfeiture of past service, thereby disentitling the employee from pensionary benefits. The judgment draws a sharp doctrinal distinction between resignation and voluntary retirement, reinforces the principle of literal interpretation of unambiguous statutory provisions, and underscores that pension is not a matter of equity or sympathy but of statutory entitlement.
Arguments on Behalf of the Petitioners:
The petitioners contended that resignation tendered on medical grounds stands on a fundamentally different footing from resignation tendered for personal or voluntary reasons. It was argued that when an employee is compelled to resign due to ill health or physical incapacity, such resignation lacks the element of voluntariness that ordinarily characterizes resignation from service. The petitioners submitted that pension is a social security measure and a deferred benefit for long and dedicated service rendered to the State, and therefore, the pension rules ought to be interpreted liberally to advance the object of welfare and social justice. It was urged that denying pension to an employee who resigns due to medical incapacity would result in grave hardship and defeat the humanitarian purpose underlying pensionary schemes. The petitioners further contended that Rule 23 of the Tamil Nadu Pension Rules should not be read in isolation but must be harmoniously construed with other provisions of the Rules that recognize incapacity and ill health as valid considerations for grant of pension. Reliance was placed on Rule 36 of the Tamil Nadu Pension Rules, which provides for invalid pension to a government servant who is permanently incapacitated due to physical or mental infirmity. According to the petitioners, resignation on medical grounds should be treated as akin to invalidation from service, and therefore, such employees should not be deprived of pensionary benefits merely due to the nomenclature of “resignation.” It was also argued that a strict literal interpretation of Rule 23 would lead to arbitrary and unjust results, penalizing employees who are forced to exit service due to circumstances beyond their control. The petitioners sought invocation of the mischief rule of interpretation, contending that the legislative intent behind pension rules was to ensure post-retirement security, and that the mischief of depriving medically incapacitated employees of pension should be remedied through purposive interpretation. On these grounds, the petitioners prayed that resignation on medical grounds be excluded from the forfeiture clause under Rule 23 and that they be declared entitled to pensionary benefits.
Arguments on Behalf of the Respondents:
The State of Tamil Nadu and the other respondents strongly opposed the petitions and submitted that the issue was squarely governed by the clear and unambiguous language of Rule 23 of the Tamil Nadu Pension Rules, 1978. It was argued that the Rule categorically states that resignation from service entails forfeiture of past service, leaving no scope for judicial interpretation or creation of additional exceptions. The respondents emphasized that the proviso to Rule 23 expressly carves out only one exception—resignation submitted for the purpose of taking up another qualifying appointment under the Government—and the deliberate exclusion of all other grounds, including medical reasons, reflects the legislative intent. The respondents submitted that courts cannot add words to a statute or read into it something that the rule-making authority has consciously omitted. It was further argued that the Tamil Nadu Pension Rules constitute a complete code governing pensionary entitlements, and where the Rules intended to provide pension on medical grounds, they have done so expressly under Rule 36 dealing with invalid pension. According to the respondents, resignation and invalidation are legally distinct concepts, and an employee who chooses to resign cannot later claim the benefits meant for employees who are invalidated out of service through a prescribed procedure. The respondents also contended that pension is not a matter of compassion but a statutory right governed strictly by the rules in force. Employees enter government service with full knowledge of the service conditions, including the consequences of resignation, and therefore cannot subsequently seek pensionary benefits contrary to the express provisions of the Rules. The State further submitted that equating resignation on medical grounds with voluntary retirement would blur the clear statutory distinction maintained by the Rules and open floodgates of litigation. On these grounds, the respondents urged the Court to uphold the forfeiture of past service consequent upon resignation and dismiss the claims for pension.
Court’s Judgment and Reasoning:
The Full Bench of the Madras High Court, after considering the rival submissions, delivered a reasoned and unequivocal judgment affirming the State’s position. The Court began by examining Rule 23 of the Tamil Nadu Pension Rules, 1978, and noted that the provision is explicit in stating that resignation from service entails forfeiture of past service. The Bench categorically held that the language of Rule 23 admits of no ambiguity and leaves no room for interpretation based on the reasons for resignation. The Court observed that the Rule does not distinguish between resignation on personal grounds and resignation on medical or health grounds, and therefore, the grounds on which resignation is tendered are wholly immaterial. Emphasizing the principle of literal interpretation, the Court held that when statutory language is plain and unambiguous, courts are bound to give effect to its ordinary meaning without importing external considerations. The Bench rejected the petitioners’ plea to invoke the mischief rule, observing that such a rule of interpretation is applicable only when there is ambiguity or uncertainty in the statutory provision. In the present case, the Court found no such ambiguity warranting departure from the plain meaning of the Rule. The Court further noted that the proviso to Rule 23 expressly provides an exception only in cases where resignation is submitted to take up another qualifying government appointment, and by necessary implication, all other grounds stand excluded. The Bench applied the maxim expressio unius est exclusio alterius, holding that when the rule-making authority has expressly included one exception, it must be presumed to have consciously excluded others. Addressing the reliance on Rule 36 relating to invalid pension, the Court held that invalid pension operates in a completely different field and applies only when a government servant is invalidated out of service due to permanent incapacity through the prescribed mechanism. The Court cautioned against forcefully reading provisions from one context into another, noting that such over-interpretation would distort the statutory scheme. The Bench also underscored the distinction between resignation and voluntary retirement, observing that voluntary retirement is a mode of exit recognized by the Rules with attendant pensionary benefits, whereas resignation is treated as a severance of service carrying specific consequences. The Court observed that employees enter service fully aware of these consequences and cannot later resile from them on equitable considerations. Holding that pension is a statutory right and not an equitable indulgence, the Full Bench concluded that resignation from service—even on medical or health grounds—results in forfeiture of past service and disentitles the employee from pensionary benefits. Accordingly, the petitions were dismissed, and the legal position was conclusively settled.