preloader image

Loading...

The Legal Affair

Let's talk Law

The Legal Affair

Let's talk Law

Presumption in Favour of Soldiers: J&K High Court Asserts Disability Arising in Service Must Be Attributed to Military Duty Unless Proven Otherwise

Presumption in Favour of Soldiers: J&K High Court Asserts Disability Arising in Service Must Be Attributed to Military Duty Unless Proven Otherwise

Introduction:

In the significant judgment titled Union of India vs Nirman Singh Jamwal & Connected Matters (2025), the Jammu & Kashmir High Court addressed a recurring and deeply consequential dispute concerning disability pension claims by military personnel discharged due to ailments or chronic medical conditions developed during service. A Division Bench comprising Justice Sanjeev Kumar and Justice Sanjay Parihar was confronted with a batch of petitions filed by the Union of India challenging an order passed by the Armed Forces Tribunal (AFT) which had directed the grant of disability pension to a soldier discharged in 2020 on account of primary hypertension and hypertriglyceridemia—medical conditions that did not exist at the time of his enrollment but arose during active military service. The High Court, in meticulously examining the legal and medical framework governing disability compensation, revisited critical provisions of the Entitlement Rules, 2008 and the Guide to Medical Officers (Military Pensions), 2008, thereby reinforcing the principle that once a soldier enters military service in sound medical condition, any subsequent disability detected during service is presumed to be attributable to or aggravated by such service unless the Army authorities establish otherwise through clear, intelligible, and cogent medical reasoning. The Court expressed strong disapproval of the process wherein Medical Boards routinely record a cryptic and one-line remark—“neither attributable to nor aggravated by service” (NANA)—without offering supporting justification, reinforcing that such opinions are insufficient in law to disentitle a soldier from the disability element of military pension. The Bench ultimately affirmed the AFT’s ruling and dismissed the Union’s challenge, holding that the burden of disproving service connection lies entirely upon the Army administration once disability emerges during active duty.

Arguments of Both Sides:

The case placed before the High Court presented a sharp conflict between institutional governance and individual rights, with both parties advancing a multitude of arguments rooted in statutory interpretation, medical classifications, military service norms, and constitutional equity. On behalf of the Union of India, counsel argued that the disability pension granted by the Armed Forces Tribunal lacked medical justification because the soldier’s ailments of primary hypertension and hypertriglyceridemia did not qualify as service-connected disabilities under the established medical rules. The Union took refuge in the findings of the Release Medical Board (RMB), which had concluded through its standardized format that the disabilities suffered by the discharged personnel were “neither attributable to nor aggravated by military service.” The Union asserted that military service stress cannot be construed as the universal causal factor for every medical condition that manifests during service and it is an erroneous assumption that all illnesses are attributable or aggravated merely by virtue of serving in uniform. The legal representatives for the petitioners emphasized that the Entitlement Rules were meant to filter genuine service-related medical problems from unrelated civilian illnesses and that the AFT erred in adopting a liberal approach by granting disability pension merely because the disabilities surfaced during the soldier’s tenure. They further contended that hypertension and hypertriglyceridemia are lifestyle disorders driven largely by individual predispositions, dietary habits, and genetic factors, and cannot be uniformly blamed on service conditions. The Union argued that the presumption of attributability cannot replace proof and that the award of pension must be based on medically sound, narrowly construed criteria rather than generalized assumptions about military stress. It was further argued that the responsibility of the Medical Board is to determine attributability or aggravation and that judicial re-evaluation of medical findings without expert consultation amounts to inappropriate judicial overreach into professional assessment. The State also insisted that the Court should defer to the expertise of Medical Boards constituted under Army Regulations, and that if a Medical Board certifies that no link exists between service and disability, such findings ought not to be lightly interfered with unless mala fide or patent illegality is demonstrated.

On the opposite side, representing the soldier, the respondents countered the Union’s submissions by arguing that the foundational premise of military service itself creates a heightened physical, mental, and emotional strain, rendering soldiers uniquely vulnerable to medical disorders that ordinary civilians might not experience. They highlighted the 2008 Entitlement Rules and the Guide to Medical Officers (GMO), which expressly lay down that where no disability exists prior to enrollment, any subsequently detected disability must be presumed attributable to or aggravated by service unless the Army discharges the burden of establishing the contrary through meaningful, evidence-based, and well-reasoned medical analysis. The respondents argued that the one-line endorsement of NANA by the Medical Board amounted to non-application of mind and cannot override statutory presumptions created by the entitlement framework. It was further contended that primary hypertension is not a simple lifestyle disorder in the context of military postings; instead, medical literature acknowledges that high-altitude deployment, irregular sleep cycles, separation from family, severe climatic exposure, high-pressure operational environments, and restricted dietary choices cumulatively aggravate cardiovascular and metabolic conditions. The respondents illustrated that the soldier had served in difficult conditions and that neither the Medical Board report nor the Union’s pleadings pointed to any independent, traceable cause that could explain the onset of hypertension and hypertriglyceridemia outside the context of military duty. They asserted that the Medical Board report was bereft of reasoning, lacked causal analysis, and was violative of Para 43 of the GMO, which requires a detailed assessment of stress-related disorders before disentitling a soldier from pensionary benefits. The respondents reminded the Bench that disability pension is not charity but a statutory right earned through dedicated service, and denial of such benefits on the basis of cryptic remarks violates principles of natural justice, administrative fairness, and constitutional protection under Articles 14 and 21. The respondents thus urged the Court to uphold the AFT’s well-reasoned order that recognized the disability as aggravated by service conditions, rejecting the Union’s attempt to rely on a mechanical certification process devoid of substantive reasoning.

Court’s Judgment:

In a comprehensive and emphatic judgment, the Jammu & Kashmir High Court reaffirmed and fortified the statutory presumption governing attribution and aggravation of disability suffered by military personnel, concluding that the Medical Board’s sweeping assertion of “neither attributable to nor aggravated by service” was inadequate, cryptic, and legally unsustainable. The Court held that once the Army enrolls a soldier upon a medical evaluation that determines him physically fit, the legal presumption favours the soldier—that any disability that manifests during military service stands attributable to or aggravated by service unless the opposing party successfully demonstrates the contrary. It observed that military service, unlike civilian employment, exposes personnel to unique environmental, psychological, and operational stressors that significantly increase vulnerability to chronic medical conditions such as hypertension, thereby strengthening the statutory presumption in favour of attributability. The Bench criticized the mechanical manner in which Medical Boards have been issuing one-line conclusions without offering clear, cogent, and detailed medical reasoning supporting their decision to deny disability benefits. It ruled that the Board must not merely tick boxes or record monosyllabic observations; instead, it must engage in a meaningful analysis that evaluates the factual service profile, operational stress exposure, medical trajectory, and risk factors associated with military postings before concluding that a disability is unrelated to service. The Court meticulously analyzed Paragraph 43 of GMO 2008, which treats hypertension as an ailment susceptible to aggravation by stress conditions inherent in military service. It reiterated that aggravation may arise not only from active combat or physical exertion but from emotional pressures, familial separation, duty uncertainties, or even the lack of dietary autonomy—all of which are directly linked to service compulsions. Having evaluated the medical record and statutory framework, the Court held that primary hypertension and hypertriglyceridemia were indeed aggravated by military service, rendering the soldier entitled to disability pension. The Bench affirmed that the Armed Forces Tribunal had correctly appreciated the statutory presumptions and medical guidelines in directing pension entitlement and that the Union had failed to produce any evidence, medical reasoning, or expert assessment that could rebut the presumption of service connection. The Court thus declared that a soldier cannot be deprived of disability pension on the basis of an unexplained and perfunctory Medical Board opinion, and it consequently dismissed the batch of petitions filed by the Union of India, terming them devoid of merit. In doing so, it reinforced judicial precedence that protects not only the letter of pensionary entitlement but also the dignity of those who bear the cost of national defense, underscoring that institutions must exhibit responsibility and transparency when dealing with the well-being of serving or retired personnel.